Synod Senior Band (MN)
                Music Director: Emmett Stark    
    Mission - we make joyous music by and to Seniors    Synod Senior Band - 2010 photo                    
                                                  
                                                       Member Roster/Contact
Season is warm (April-October, with July off),
          and light (daytimes).

Concerts: 9-10, mostly in  Western Twin Cities

Rehearsals
:
 
~2/mo. Tuesdays  10:00a-12:15p
   @ Westwood Lutheran Church, St. Louis Park
     Cedar Lake Rd between MN-100 and US-169
 

Next: Rehearsal, Tuesday, May.2 @10:00a    

Video: 2016 Finale Concert  
Recent Repertoire


***********************************************
2017 Concert Season
    Tuesday, May  9 @2:00p, at Friendship Village, Bloomington 
    Tuesday, May 23 @12:00n, at Mt. Olivet LC, Minneapolis
    Tuesday, June 20 @10:00a, at Adath Synagogue, Minnetonka
    Wednesday, August 2 @12:00n, at St. Philips LC, Hastings
     Sunday, August 13 - @2 morn services, at Westwood LC, St.Louis Park
     Sunday, August 29 @2:00p, at Masonic Home, Bloomington
     Saturday, September 16 @6:30p, at Gethsemane LC, Hopkins
     Tuesday, September 26 @11:00a, at Faith LC, Coon Rapids
     Tuesday, October 31 @10:30a, at WestwoodLC, St.Louis Park
*********************************************
Overall Schedule

--Tue, Feb. 7 "Winter Tuneup” Rehearsal
--Tue, Ap. 4   Rehearsal
Tue, Ap. 18 Rehearsal
Tue, May 2  Rehearsal
Tue, May 9   CONCERT at Friendship Village (Bloomington) @1:00p
Tue, May 16 Rehearsal
Tue, May 23 CONCERT at Mt. Olivet LC @12:00n  
Thu, June 1 CONCERT at Lord Of Life LC, @TBD
Tue, June 13 Rehearsal  
Tue, June 20 CONCERT at Adath Synagogue (Hopkins) @10:00a
Tue, June 27 Rehearsal
  {MONTH of JULY BREAK}
Tue, Aug. 1  Rehearsal
Wed, Aug 2  CONCERT at St. Philips LC (Hastings) @ BA (late morn)
Tue, Aug 8  Rehearsal  (in Sanctuary) for WW services
Sun, Aug 13  MORNING SERVICES at WestwoodLC
Tue, Aug 22  Rehearsal
Tue, Aug 29 CONCERT at Masonic Home (Bloomington) 2:00p
Tue, Sep 12 Rehearsal
Sat,  Sep 16 CONCERT at Gethsemane LC (Hopkins) @6:30p
Tue, Sep 26 CONCERT at Faith LC (Coon Rapids) @11:00a
Tue, Oct   3 Rehearsal
Tue, Oct 17 Rehearsal
Mon,Oct 30  Rehearsal in WestwoodLC sanctuary,
         followed by annual luncheon
Tue, Oct 31  ANNUAL COFFEE CONCERT at WestwoodLC, @10:30a

**********************************
Rehearsal Plans
   May.   2
   June.  6
   June.27

*********************************************

Rehearsal  May.2
(Program for first 3 concerts)

Trumpet Salutations (Em)
Stars and Stripes (sections, done as intro)
Emblem of Unity (Phil)            
March 6th (Jim)                        
Earle of Oxford’s Marche (Nick)
Moorside March (Dick)             
March from 'Le Miserables' (Em)       
Fiddler on the Roof (Faye)
Broadway Journey (Em)          
Curtain Call  (Em)                    
Stars and Stripes Forever (full march)
**********************************               
Rehearsal June.6
   
(Tentative)
      Moorside March
      Curtain Call
      'Stars & Stripes Forever'  March
*****************************************
RehearsalJune.27
    
Crown Imperial March
     Menard's Enigma March
     National Emblem March
     Seventy-Six Trombones
     Tribute to Marvin Hamlisch

***************************************
 2017 Repertoire
The theme this year is “Marches and Musicals.”
At the beginning the season, use the “Ist Half Repertoire.”
As we progress through the season, we will gradually
replace the 1st-half repertoire with the 2nd-half repertoire.
Descriptions of the pieces are listed after the 2nd-half titles.
 
1st Half Repertoire:                 2nd Half Repertoire:
Trumpet Salutations                  Trumpet Salutations (opening)
Emblem of Unity                        National Emblem (2/4 march)
March 6th                                  March of the Steel Men (6/8 march)
Earle of Oxford’s Marche          Crown Imperial  (Ceremonial March)
Moorside March                        Menard's Enigma  (Concert March)
March from 'Le Miz'                  76 Trombones (March in Musical)
Broadway Journey                   Tribute to Marvin Hamlisch (Medley)
Fiddler                                      West Side Story (Musical)
Curtain Call                               King and I (Musical)
Stars & Stripes Forever            Stars and Stripes (closing)
*****************************************
Westwood Lutheran Church (St. Louis Park)
      Cedar Lake Rd between MN-100 and US-169
      S side of Cedar Lake Rd, 4 Blocks E of US-169
 
Travel warning re US-169, from MN-DOT:
    US-169 is reduced to 1 lane in each direction
    between 5thSt/LincolnDrive exit and I-394,
    starting at 5 a.m. Monday, April 10,
    remaining through October.
     
Nine Mile Creek Bridge on Hwy 169 is closed
    between Bren Road and 5thSt/LincolnDrive exit.

      Detours to bypass these diversions on US-169:
    North: MN62-E>MN100, I394-W>US169.
    South: detour: I394-W>I494>MN62-E>US169.

   The MN-DOT project website has a current map
   of road/ramp closures to navigate,
   and also has a PDF version of the same map.